Governing Board

The IESALC Governing Board is the management body that, within the framework of the guidelines approved by the UNESCO General Conference every two years, supervises and adjusts the Institute’s work program regarding its implementation and execution.

The Institute is presided over by a Governing Board which currently comprises nine members:

Paulo Falcón (Argentina) – Former National Director for University Management.

Dixton Montgomery Findlay (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines) – Deputy Director of Education / Minister of Education.

María Altagracia López Ferreiras (Dominican Republic) – Academic Vice Rector of the Santo Domingo Institute of Technology / Dominican Association of University Rectors.

Olda María Cano de Araúz (Panama) Academic Vice Rector of the Universidad Autónoma de Chiriquí / Panama Rectors’ Council (CRP).

Miriam Alpizar Santana (Cuba) –
Vice Minister of Higher Education.

Eddy Córdova (Venezuela), Deputy Director of the Permanent Secretariat of the National Council of Universities.

Valentina Canese Caballero (Paraguay) – Director of the Higher Institute of Languages (Philosophy Faculty of the National University of Asunción).

Dameon Black (Jamaica) – Commissioner and Executive Director, Jamaica Tertiary Education Commission. 

Ramón Ulises Salgado Peña (Honduras) – Former Rector of the National Pedagogical University of Honduras and former Director of Higher Education of Honduras.