Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Next Generation: Reflections and Future Perspectives on Higher Education in the Former Soviet Union

15 February 2022 hora: 9:00 am - 11:00 am

Date: Monday 14 February and Tuesday 15 February 2022

Time: 9.00 – 11.00 Caracas (UTC -4) / 16.00 – 18.00 Moscow (UTC +3) each day

Format: Online via Zoom. Open to all with prior registration required

Language: English (Q&A will be available in English and Russian)

Registration Link:

UNESCO IESALC and the National Research University Higher School of Economics (Moscow, Russia) will hold the International Conference on Higher Education Developments in the former Soviet Space, 30 years since the end of the Soviet Union, on February 14-15, 2022.

Conference objectives

It has now been thirty years since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. Higher education systems in the 15 ex-Soviet countries were profoundly impacted during and after this period. At the same time, ex-Soviet higher education institutions and systems have been shaped by an array of new ideas, altered funding arrangements, different governance arrangements, and international partnerships. Trends such as university rankings, privatization, and an emphasis on quality assurance are also proving influential. As we turn to the next 30 years, this could be a period of continuing convergence with globally circulating ideas and practices, a time during which the hallmarks of the past remain strong or opportunities may also be presented for these countries to take different paths towards their future higher education.

This conference is being held to mark the 30th anniversary of the collapse of the Soviet Union and to reflect on developments, trends, and future prospects in the higher education systems of the ex-Soviet space. Co-hosted by UNESCO International Institute for Higher Education (UNESCO IESALC) and HSE University (National Research University Higher School of Economics), the conference brings together researchers, policymakers, practitioners, and other participants with an interest in higher education in this region as well as in comparative global perspective.

Next Generation conference – agenda and speakers – UNESCO IESALC + HSE University

AGENDA

Monday 14 February 2022 

Times shown are UTC -4 (Caracas) and UTC +3 (Moscow); please check your local time zone 

 

09:00 – 09:15 (UTC-4)

16:00 – 16:15 (UTC+3)

 

Conference opening 

UNESCO IESALC and HSE University

 

09:15 – 10:30 (UTC-4)

16:15 – 17:30 (UTC+3)

 

Roundtable: Institutional transformations in higher education 

Maria Yudkevich, Vice Rector, HSE University, Russia 

Isak Froumin, Distinguished Professor, HSE University, Russia

Laura Karabassova, Rector, Zhubanov University, Kazakhstan 

LarissTitarenko, Professor, Belarusian State University, Belarus  

Moderator: Francesc Pedró, Director, UNESCO IESALC, Venezuela

10:30 – 10:50 (UTC -4)

17:30 – 17:50 (UTC +3)

Open discussion with all participants

 

10:50 – 11:00 (UTC -4)

17:50 – 18:00 (UTC+3)

Closing remarks at the end of Day 1 

 

 

Tuesday 15 February 2022

Times shown are UTC -4 (Caracas) and UTC +3 (Moscow); please check your local time zone

09:00 – 09:10 (UTC-4)

16:00 – 16:10 (UTC+3)

Welcome to Day 2

 

09:10 – 10:25 (UTC-4)

16:10 – 17:25 (UTC+3)

Roundtable: The social responsibilities of higher education

Maia Chankseliani, Associate Professor of Comparative and International Education, University of Oxford, UK  

Ikboljon Qoraboyev, Associate Professor of International Relations, KazGUU, Kazakhstan 

Susanna Karakhanyan, Higher Education Policy & Regulation Director, Abu Dhabi Department of Education and Knowledge, UAE

Bakhrom Mirkasimov, Rector, Westminster International University in Tashkent, Uzbekistan 

Moderator: Evgeniy Terentev, Director, Institute of Education, HSE University, Russia 

10:25 – 10:50 (UTC -4)

17:25 – 17:50 (UTC +3)

Open discussion with all participants
10:50 – 11:00 (UTC -4)

17:50 – 18:00 (UTC+3)

Closing of conference; Participant photo

UNESCO IESALC and HSE University

Details

Date:
15 February 2022
Time:
9:00 am - 11:00 am